Dual Enrollment Faculty

David T. Allen, Engineering Faculty

Dr. AllenDr. David Allen is the Gertz Regents Professor of Chemical Engineering, and the Director of the Center for Energy and Environmental Resources, at the University of Texas at Austin. He is the author of seven books and over 200 papers. The quality of his work has been recognized by the National Science Foundation, the AT&T Foundation, the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, the Association of Environmental Engineering and Science Professors, and the State of Texas. He has served on a variety of governmental advisory panels and currently chairs the Environmental Protection Agency’s Science Advisory Board. He has won teaching awards at the University of Texas and UCLA and the Lewis Award in Chemical Engineering Education, from the American Institute of Chemical Engineers.

Dr. Allen received his B.S. degree in Chemical Engineering, with distinction, from Cornell University in 1979. His M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Chemical Engineering were awarded by the California Institute of Technology in 1981 and 1983. He has held visiting faculty appointments at the California Institute of Technology, the University of California, Santa Barbara, and the Department of Energy.



Mark R. Appleford, Engineering Faculty

Dr. Mark Appleford is the Associate Dean of Undergraduate Programs in the Department of Biomedical Engineering at the University of Texas at San Antonio. He received the University of Texas Ambassadors Award for Teaching in 2015. His research focuses on protein signaling of mechanotransduction in bone cells, bone reconstruction following osteosarchoma and severe trauma, investigating angiogenesis applied to tissue engineering strategies and experimental and theoretical mechanical behavior of orthopedic implants and tissue material hybrids. He teaches courses on tissue-biomaterial interactions, cellular and tissue engineering and biocompatibility.

Dr. Appleford received his B.S. and M.S. degrees from California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo. His Ph.D. degree was awarded by University of Tennessee Health Science Center.



Richard H. Crawford, Engineering Faculty

Dr. Richard Crawford is a Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Temple Foundation Endowed Faculty Fellow No. 3 at The University of Texas at Austin, where he teaches mechanical engineering design and geometric modeling for design. His commitment to engineering education has been recognized by awards including the 1995 Fred Merryfield Design Award from the American Society for Engineering Education in recognition of his contributions in design education, the 2010 Ralph Coates Roe Award for exemplary Mechanical Engineering educators, and a 2011 University of Texas System Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award. His research interests include a wide spectrum of topics in computer-aided mechanical design and design theory and methodology.

Dr. Crawford received his B.S. degree in Mechanical Engineering from Louisiana State University in 1982. His M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Mechanical Engineering were awarded by Purdue University in 1985 and 1989.



Shannon Stokes, Lecturer 

Dr. Stokes is passionate about preparing students for success at the college level. She has worked on student success initiatives for first- and second- year students and college readiness projects for incoming freshmen in the College of Natural Sciences. Most recently, Dr. Stokes worked on an NSF funded grant to develop engineering modules that showcase the application of first-year Calculus in engineering. Dr. Stokes co-teaches ES 301 both as a dual-enrollment course and in-residence at the University of Texas at Austin with Dr. Crawford. She has previous experience with dual-enrollment courses in Chemistry and Geoscience.

Dr. Stokes received her B.S. in International Affairs from Georgetown University in Washington DC and her M.S. and Ph.D. in Environmental and Water Resources Engineering
from the University of Texas at Austin.